• What JGIG Is:

    Joyfully Growing In Grace engages in an examination of beliefs found in the Hebrew Roots Movement, Messianic Judaism, and Netzarim streams of thought and related sects.

    The term “Messianic” is generally understood to describe Jews who have come to believe in Yeshua/Jesus as their Messiah. Jews who are believers in Jesus/Yeshua typically call themselves Jewish/Hebrew Christians or simply, Christians.

    Many Christians meet folks who say they are ‘Messianic’ and assume that those folks are Jewish Christians. Most aren’t Jewish at all, but are Gentile Christians who have chosen to pursue Torah observance and have adopted the Messianic term, calling themselves Messianic Christians, adherents to Messianic Judaism, or simply, Messianics. Some will even try to avoid that label and say that they are followers of "The Way".

    These Gentiles (and to be fair, some Messianic Jews) preach Torah observance/pursuance for Christians, persuading many believers that the Christianity of the Bible is a false religion and that we must return to the faith of the first century sect of Judaism that they say Yeshua (Jesus Christ) embraced. According to them, once you become aware that you should be 'keeping' the edicts and regulations of Mosaic Covenant Law, if you do not, you are then in willful disobedience to God.

    It has been my observation that Christians who adopt the label of Messianic identify more with the tenets of Judaism than they do with the tenets of Christianity. Many reject the label of Christian altogether and some eventually even convert to Judaism.

    1 Thessalonians 5:21-22 says, "But examine everything carefully; hold fast to that which is good; abstain from every form of evil."

    Joyfully Growing in Grace examines the methods, claims, and fruits of the Hebrew Roots Movement, Messianic Judaism, and Netzarim streams of thought and related, law-keeping sects.

    To borrow from a Forrest Gump quote, “Law ‘keepers’ are like a box of chocolates - ya never know what you’re gonna get!” The goal of JGIG is to be a resource to help those affected by the Torah pursuant movements to try and sort out what they’re dealing with. Make use of the tabs with drop-down menus found at the top of this site – there’s tons of info there, and it’s very navigable.

    Be sure to click on the many embedded links within the posts here - there's lots of additional and related information for you to access that way, as well.

    Welcome, and may God grant you wisdom and discernment as you consider all of these things.

  • Today’s Top Ten (or 5? not sure why 10 are no longer showing?)

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • JGIG on Facebook:

  • Recommended Reading

  • Broken Links – UGH

    Do you find it frustrating when you’re directed to a link that does not exist? Me too! My apologies for any broken links you may find here.

    JGIG occasionally links to to sites that sometimes change hosting sites or remove content, forums that periodically cull threads, sites/posters that appear to ‘scrub’ content from their sites (or YouTube posts, pdf files, etc.) when that content receives negative attention, and other sites that over time, have simply ceased to exist.

    As of this writing (Sep ’23), I’ll be methodically going through JGIG and repairing as many links as I can, slowly, but surely.

    Please let me know via the ‘Contact JGIG’ drop-down menu item under the ‘About’ tab at the top of this page if you come across a link that is broken so that I can try to repair or remove it. Please include the name of the post/article where you found the broken link as well as the link itself. You may be able to find content specified by doing a search and viewing a relocated or cached page/post/video using an article title or some text content.

    Thanks,
    – JGIG

  • Total Hits

    • 566,000
  • Map

A Note to Readers/Commenters

Hi All!

Our family just returned from a big trip during the holidays, having traveled about 2500 miles over 16 days.  It was a great trip, but a funny thing happened while stepping out of the ice fishing house . . .

wrist 2  wrist

We have just returned home, and though set with traction and casted in an ER, we were advised that my wrist needs to be seen by an orthopedic surgeon.  I can still feel some things moving around in there where they probably shouldn’t be moving, so it likely needs to be re-set or may require surgery.  Thankfully it was my left wrist and I’m right-handed =o).

wrist post-reduction

Wrist, post-reduction

We opted to wait to see an orthopedist until after we completed our trip.  Perhaps not ideal, but I was unwilling to forfeit long overdue visits with family and friends.  I was advised that surgeries are often put off until swelling and bruising have resolved anyway, so I’m comfortable with the decision to complete the trip and wait to see an ortho when we got home.  I have an appointment early this week, pending weather, ha, as roads may ice where we live.  We’ve been just ahead of the major storms that have crossed the country over the past couple of weeks!

I’d appreciate your prayers for doctor’s wisdom about how to proceed with my wrist, as well as for quick healing.  And, as some of you may be experiencing with ObamaCare coming online, we were between health care policies for hubby and I when the accident occurred, so pray that we can get coverage quickly to mitigate costs, especially if surgery is needed.

[Update:  Saw the orthopedic surgeon on Monday;  surgery is scheduled for Wednesday afternoon 1/8.  Bone really does need surgical repair.  We have a friend who works with the ortho group and has advocated for us well; cost will be affordable, for which we’re thankful as our new coverage will not be effective until Feb. 1.  Will update when I can.  Thanks for your prayers!]

We had very limited internet and cell service (as in none except for a few hours in the ER) due to a major ice storm in Southern Ontario during part of our travels, and then I broke my wrist, so computer things have piled up!

There are lots of comments in moderation as well as many emails for me to answer.  Just wanted to post here that I will get to all the comments and emails in due time.  In addition to unpacking and getting our large family re-settled, I’m working one-handed.  Thankfully, several of our children are in their teens now and are great helpers.  Hubby has done a great job picking up the slack and ministering to my needs, as well.

There is more to come at JGIG – more testimonies are in the works and of course more posts regarding Grace and Law and Old and New Covenant issues.

Thanks for your patience, everyone!

Grace and Peace,
-JGIG

Update 1/9: Here’s my new hardware. Surgery went very well. “Repair went perfectly” according to our surgical assistant friend. Everyone from admissions to nursing staff to the anesthesiologist to the surgeon were awesome =o).

Wrist repair 1 wrist repair 2

I’m hating this nerve block though – it’s much more extensive than the local block I had in the ER. Think total numbness and paralysis up to the wavingshoulder like Novocain x 1000 that lasts for 18 hours. Icky creepy feeling! It’s the middle of the night and I’ve turned on my laptop to try to distract me from how weird my arm feels. Please pray that the nerve block resolves well and that the transition to pain meds goes smoothly.

Thanks for all the prayers!

1/10 – Transitioned from nerve block to pain meds.  Feeling okay.  This is me waving to you all, ha.  Splint/cast goes up over the elbow.  Slowly working through emails and comments here at JGIG one-handed when not too sleepy from meds =o).  Thanks for your patience!

1/15 – Post-op follow-up appointment today.  Did really well except for the part where I almost passed out =o/.  I really should have eaten before the appointment.   Seeing the incision, which was quite a bit longer than I expected and the pain associated with removing the dressing/splint/cast made me very oogy.  The physical therapist was awesome; seeing me go pale, she seated me in a reclining-type chair (much like those used when giving blood) and gave me a Coke.  She crafted a splint for me which is much less bulky than the original post-surgical version =o).  My short-term goals: work on making a fist and flexing fingers.  Don’t want those tendons and ligaments freezing up in scar tissue!  It does hurt to do, and I’m amazed at the amount of swelling still present in my hand and thumb, which restricts movement.  My forearm has shrunk and everything is very stiff, including the elbow.  I’ll be doing my part, but please pray that swelling resolves and that flexibility and strength come back, slow but sure.  Thanks!

2/5/14 – Healing slowly . . . I’m very out of sorts with this wrist thing – much harder recovery than I was prepared for, and will be long, as well.

Three big screws and seven small ones on a T-plate lives in my arm now. I’ve never broken, much less shattered a bone before, and I’ve decided it’s NOT fun! I’m 48 now, and have been shocked by how tired I am – I guess building bone is hard work! And not sleeping well because it’s hard to get comfortable.  sigh.

I’m adjusting to the reality of my current limitations. It will be more like a 6 month to a year+ to really get back to ‘normal’.

From what I’ve read it’s all very normal . . . like I said, adjusting.  There’s not a lot of pain at this point beyond a consistent ache unless I try to do, well, much of anything, ha.

I appreciate all continued prayers on my behalf!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you’re someone in the HRM or a related Law-keeping sect or just a believer questioning what you believe and why, a clear presentation of the Gospel can be found HERE.  For more resources regarding the Hebrew Roots/Messianic movements see the Post Index and the Articles Page.  General study helps, discernment, and apologetics sites can be found HERE.  Good, foundational studies with a special emphasis on Old Covenant/New Covenant Truths can be found HERE.  Be sure to check out the Testimonies Page, as well.   Make use of the tabs with drop-down menus found at the top of this site – there’s tons of info there, and it’s very navigable.  May God guide and bless you as you seek His Truth.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Other articles available at JGIG:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

6 Responses

  1. I pray for a speedy recovery for you & wisdom for the doctors that will be taking care of you.

    Blessings, Kim

    Sent from Kimmo’s iPhone

    >

  2. Hang in there, JGIG. Praying that God heals your wrist with minimal discomfort. Happy New Year!

  3. Prayers for a quick recovery!

  4. Wow, your wrist looks a little like mine on the inside. I got into a near fatal 4-wheeler wreck back in 2008, where my wrist was essentially shattered. I still have 11 pins and a large plate in there. It took some time for it to heal, so prayers for speedy recovery.

    • Yep, shattered was the word they used for mine, too =o/. Really looking forward to it feeling better and getting full range of motion back. Thank you so much for the prayers!

      Czeched out your website =o). Our associate pastor and his wife were missionaries in the Czech Republic for several years in the ’90’s. May God grant you grace, peace, and provision as you and your family “EXALT CHRIST IN THE CZECH REPUBLIC THROUGH THE PLANTING OF GOSPEL CENTERED CHURCHES”!

      Much love and prayers in Christ,
      -JGIG

In 500 words or less . . .