• What JGIG Is:

    Joyfully Growing In Grace engages in an examination of beliefs found in the Hebrew Roots Movement, Messianic Judaism, and Netzarim streams of thought and related sects.

    The term “Messianic” is generally understood to describe Jews who have come to believe in Yeshua/Jesus as their Messiah. Jews who are believers in Jesus/Yeshua typically call themselves Jewish/Hebrew Christians or simply, Christians.

    Many Christians meet folks who say they are ‘Messianic’ and assume that those folks are Jewish Christians. Most aren’t Jewish at all, but are Gentile Christians who have chosen to pursue Torah observance and have adopted the Messianic term, calling themselves Messianic Christians, adherents to Messianic Judaism, or simply, Messianics. Some will even try to avoid that label and say that they are followers of "The Way".

    These Gentiles (and to be fair, some Messianic Jews) preach Torah observance/pursuance for Christians, persuading many believers that the Christianity of the Bible is a false religion and that we must return to the faith of the first century sect of Judaism that they say Yeshua (Jesus Christ) embraced. According to them, once you become aware that you should be 'keeping' the edicts and regulations of Mosaic Covenant Law, if you do not, you are then in willful disobedience to God.

    It has been my observation that Christians who adopt the label of Messianic identify more with the tenets of Judaism than they do with the tenets of Christianity. Many reject the label of Christian altogether and some eventually even convert to Judaism.

    1 Thessalonians 5:21-22 says, "But examine everything carefully; hold fast to that which is good; abstain from every form of evil."

    Joyfully Growing in Grace examines the methods, claims, and fruits of the Hebrew Roots Movement, Messianic Judaism, and Netzarim streams of thought and related, law-keeping sects.

    To borrow from a Forrest Gump quote, “Law ‘keepers’ are like a box of chocolates - ya never know what you’re gonna get!” The goal of JGIG is to be a resource to help those affected by the Torah pursuant movements to try and sort out what they’re dealing with. Make use of the tabs with drop-down menus found at the top of this site – there’s tons of info there, and it’s very navigable.

    Be sure to click on the many embedded links within the posts here - there's lots of additional and related information for you to access that way, as well.

    Welcome, and may God grant you wisdom and discernment as you consider all of these things.

  • Today’s Top Ten

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • JGIG on Facebook:

  • Sponsor a child online through Compassion's Christian child sponsorship ministry. Search for a child by age, gender, country, birthday, special needs and more.
  • Recommended Reading

  • Broken Links – UGH

    Do you find it frustrating when you're directed to a link that does not exist? Me too! My apologies for any broken links you may find here.

    JGIG occasionally links to to sites that sometimes move or remove content, forums that periodically cull threads, sites/posters that appear to 'scrub' content from their sites (or YouTube posts, pdf files, etc.) when that content receives negative attention, and others that over time simply cease to exist.

    Please let me know via the 'Contact JGIG' drop-down menu item under the 'About' tab at the top of this page if you come across a link that is broken so that I can try to repair or remove it. Please include the name of the post/article where you found the broken link as well as the link itself. You may be able to find content specified by doing a search and viewing a relocated or cached page/post/video.

    Thanks,
    - JGIG

  • Total Hits

    • 466,709
  • Map

Labels II

I’m going to get out my big spoon and stir the pot just a bit . . .

Reading through comments following the Labels post got me to thinking – especially one particular comment.  I’m not picking on this commenter, but a few things came to mind as I read her second comment.  Based on what I just wrote in Discernment in Action (Chicken Wing Theology Applied), they are things I’d like say to right up here in post-land instead of back there in comment-land.

From “a thinking woman” in her second comment pertaining to Labels:

“I agree that too often labels are used to draw battle lines.  But that is not what I’m talking about.  I’m talking about practicality.  Nearly everyone in the US says they believe in God or are a Christian.  Our family is Reformed, and currently looking into joining ourselves to a Presbyterian congregation.  But if no one wanted to use labels, we could go around for years or decades trying to find a like-minded church to join.”

I’d like to offer some thoughts on the concept she presents in the last sentence of that paragraph first.  If we’re seeking after where God wants us to be, and He is faithful, AND we’re listening to Him, I doubt that years or decades will pass as we “go around” trying to find which church is for us.  God says that if we seek Him with our whole hearts, we will find Him.  He is faithful.  To be clear, I’m no proponent of “church hopping”.  But to take one’s time visiting, evaluating statements of faith, listening, praying, discussing, getting to know the leadership and the vision of a church or churches . . . I think it’s okay to not be in a big rush to find the “right” church.   

Again, from “a thinking woman”:

“I’m talking about practicality.”  

In today’s American Church culture, I’m afraid that the leading of the Holy Spirit takes a back seat to practicality. 

If, as we seek, we trust only that which falls within the boundaries of some prescribed set of denominational beliefs, (I’m talking about beliefs outside of the core, indisputable issues of the Christian faith) the risk is that we will not grow and mature as God has intended for us to.  We need to let Him guide us to where and with whom we are to worship.  That place may or may not be within the comfort-zone of our denominational bent.  Actually letting God do that leading is very challenging in practice, because then we have to give up control.  Not the self-control-type control, but the-I-wanna-go-where-I-feel-comfortable-and-agree-with-everyone-most-of-the-time-type control.

Say we choose to fellowship within our “labeled boundaries”, which I’m not saying is a bad thing, by the way, as long as we’ve been faithful to let God lead us to that place.  If we follow along, trusting that which comes from someone within the boundaries of our chosen label, then we run the risk of letting our spiritual guard down, and failing to “Test everything.  Hold on to the good.  Avoid every kind of evil.”  (1 Thessalonians 5:21,22) Like I’ve said before, I’m not saying that we should all be cynics, but we do need to listen to all teaching from all sources with a critical ear.  Notice that I said a critical ear, not a critical spirit.

For example, I trust our pastor.  I trust his teaching and his counsel and his integrity.  I see the fruit that is borne out from his life and how and where he ministers.  His marriage and family are solid.  I would (and do) heartily invite and welcome visitors to our church.

That said, when I sit down as part of the congregation to hear a teaching from our pastor or someone speaking in his place, 1 Thessalonians 5:21,22 always stands watch in the back of my mind.  For me, this results in three things:

1)  I remember to measure everything I hear against the Word, even if it is from a trusted source.

2)  I remember to set aside my pre/mis-conceptions that I may have about the issue at hand. 

3)  This makes me humble myself before God and allow the Holy Spirit to change my viewpoint if it needs changing.  It makes me teachable, yet I maintain the “filter” that the Word and the Holy Spirit afford me.

Even if you consider yourself to be in a “safe” place, having what you consider to be a filter in the form of a label, I would submit to you that your label-filter should neither a starting nor an ending place be.  A label filter should only be used as a factor, not as the primary element in your filtering process as you evaluate the teaching and practices of any church.

My point of view, as moot of a point as it may in reality be, is that if no one used labels, we’d all have to rely on the Word and the Holy Spirit to direct us thereby giving God the greater control in our lives.

      

2 Responses

  1. Hi wendy Your mother sent me your blog and she is right when she says that you write well and she is proud of you. I haven’t read the whole thing yet but certainly agree with all I have read.
    I will continue to watch and read. Keep up the good work
    Your friend Ruth

  2. Oh! What a sweet surprise! Hello, Ruth!

    Thanks for your kind comments. A flood of fond memories came to mind when I saw your name =o). I hope you will find encouragement and insight here. I guess I got Grampa’s Gift of Gab, eh?

    Blessings to you,
    Wendy

In 500 words or less . . .

